Leahy Is New Senate Pro Tempore

December 18, 2012

in News

The U.S. Senate passed a resolution Monday naming Sen. Patrick Leahy the new president pro tempore, following the death of Sen. Daniel K. Inouye of Hawaii.

Inouye, 88, was the previous pro tempore and the Senate’s longest serving member. Now both designations belong to Leahy, who was first elected to the Senate in 1974.

Leahy is also third in line for succession following Vice President Joe Biden and House Speaker John A. Boehner.

Inouye was also the chair of the Senate Committee on Appropriations, of which Leahy is a member.

“Senator Inouye was the best of the ideals and the great promise of the nation that he loved and served so valiantly,” said Leahy in a release. “What better role model for public service could any American ask for.”


Leave a Comment

eight + 2 =

Previous post:

Next post: